Some News

28 Feb
Slide1
My Dear Readers,

What a crazy, busy week this has been. There have been some… developments, we could say, in my mission. After months of struggling with some health issues and after counseling with my mission president and the Lord, we have decided that I will be coming home from my mission a little earlier than planned. This isn’t a decision I’ve taken lightly by any means, and I’ve put a lot of thought and prayer into it. All I can say is that I feel so much peace. The Lord’s timetable and plans for us are different than we think, sometimes. But I know that His hand is in this, and that this is my time to leave. To make the transition less inconvenient, I will be leaving sooner, rather than later, seeing as transfers is next week. So, surprise! I will be flying home to Texas in a week!

It’s bittersweet, really. I’ve come to love New York as a second home. I absolutely adore it here, and I am so grateful for the AMAZING experiences that I’ve had. I’m also grateful for the support that I’ve felt from my friends and family, especially in these last few months. But like I said, it’s time. I feel it.

So this coming week is going to be amazing and heartbreaking all at the same time. Today I went through the temple with all (14!) of the departing missionaries, all of them elders, and with the mission president and his wife. It was a really special experience where I was able to reflect and meditate on the last thirteen months and really feel the Lord’s love for me.

This Saturday, we have a miracle baptism! Sonia, the mother of a recent convert that I became very good friends with in Harlem, is getting baptized! The missionaries who had been teaching her passed her off to be taught by Sister Lancaster and myself, once I got back into Manhattan, because they knew about the wonderful relationship I have with Sonia. She’s had a long, hard journey, and it will be an AMAZING way to end my mission! Even better, Elder Bartleson, one of the original elders who taught her, and who is also going home in a week, got special permission to be the one to baptize her. So this weekend is going to be practically perfect. I’ll get to see a woman I love so very dearly be baptized, PLUS I’ll get to see my Harlem ward family before I leave! I feel so incredibly blessed. It really is a miracle!

I’m sad to leave Inwood, though. I’ve come to love them as well. We had a ward activity this weekend, a Karaoke night, which was super fun! There was a little emergency and Sister Lancaster and I had to go to the supermarket and get treats (we pretty much saved the day.. :) ) and so it was great because we were able to do some service. We even sang a little bit too! It was lots of fun.

I’m not sure if I’m going to get the chance to email or not next Wednesday (it’s going to be CRAZY, getting to transfers, etc.) but at the very least I’ll write once I’m home and include pictures from Sonia’s baptism.

I can’t say it enough: I love you all so much! I’ve felt your prayers, and I know that the Lord has blessed me to be able to serve for as long as I have. I’m so excited to talk to you and see you all!

PS: My homecoming talk will be in the Dripping Springs Ward (in Austin, TX) on March 24th. I’d love to see anyone there who would like to come!

Much love!!

Hermana Rogers


One Response to “Some News”

  1. veronica rogers bailey March 1, 2013 at 1:42 PM #

    Oh dear sweet Kelly …. you have your head on right …. a sweet and sad time for you …you gave it your all, Kelly and changed some lives for the better. Hope you health issues aren’t serious..gosh. It’ll be great for you to be home again. Love Great Aunt Ronny

Leave a Reply

