Busy, Busy Week!

31 Jan
Happy Birthday Celebration Dinner

Happy Birthday Celebration Dinner

Birthday on the Mish, so make a wish

Birthday on the Mish, so make a wish

Dear family and friends,

What a busy week it has been, full with lots of fun activities! First off, we had transfers today! Luckily, I am staying in the same place with the same companion. It’s always a relief when you don’t have to stress about packing and moving and lots of change. I was very happy. There were a lot of new missionaries that came into the mission, but most of the sisters were English-speaking… I’ll probably be training next cycle though, because there are a lot of Spanish-speaking sisters coming in. Stay tuned! Next transfers is gonna be CRAZY. We’re having to open up a lot of new areas to accommodate all of the new missionaries coming in. The work is definitely growing. :)

This weekend we had a baptism! Dionisio, a man the sisters started teaching before I got here, was baptized! He’s super great, and has a really good support system here from the ward already. It was really awesome! And the cool thing is we have another baptism planned for this weekend– Melissa, a 12 year old girl who is just amazing! I love her to pieces. She is so adorable. So I’ll be sure to send some pictures of that. Baptisms two weekends in a row! Love it!

In other news, we had a super awesome Stake Relief Society activity this Saturday– it was a showcase of talents! Every ward had a table set up where they could display tangible talents– be it knitting, photography, cake decorating, sewing (you name it, and it was there!) And then there was a performance section, which included a pair of girls doing a step routine, a teenage violin prodigy, and a scene acted out from Guys and Dolls (which I ADORED… I forgot how much I love theater!) And then there was also a flash-mob like number that a whole ward did. One lady stood up and started singing, “This little light of mine” and then another lady joined her and soon there were people everywhere in the aisles singing and dancing. It was so fun! It was pretty much the most awesome activity I’ve ever been to. I was so super impressed. AND I got to see some people from Harlem! That made me so so so happy.

And then yesterday, a lady in our ward took all the missionaries (4 pairs of us total) to this nice Dominican restaurant. This sweet woman is so amazing! She brought a cake for me and a birthday banner, because she found out that it was my birthday last week! She also brings “prizes” aka mugs and stuffed animals and such that you can win if you guess the number that she’s thinking of, usually between 1-10. It’s so fun! Apparently she takes the missionaries out right before transfers every cycle. So, so sweet! I loved it.
Thank you so  much for all of the birthday cards I received! You guys are so awesome. It made me so happy to hear from all of you! :) I love you all.

So yeah! Everything is great here. I’m LOVING the Spanish Bananagrams that I got for my birthday, as is the rest of my district. We’ve gotten a little competitive, not going to lie. But I am a firm believer that every Spanish-speaking missionary should have this game. It really stretches your mind and improves your Spanish skills! I just love it.
And last but not least, the weather has been a little nicer the last few days or so, but it’s always up and down. Pray for warmness!

I love you all :)

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

Happy Birthday Celebration Dinner

Happy Birthday Celebration Dinner

See this?

See this?

Me and Melissa

Me and Melissa

Oodles of doodles

Oodles of doodles

Creative Doodling and Beyond

 

I drew these doodle frames

I drew these doodle frames

Lil' ol me and Elder Lee

Lil’ ol me and Elder Lee

Missionary Birthday!!

Missionary Birthday!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

