Everything is Going So Well Here!

17 Jan
We Love NY More Than Ever

We Love NY More Than Ever

Dear family and friends,

Well, another week has gone by and it’s T Minus 6 days til my golden birthday! Yes, I will be turning 22 on the 22nd. I can’t think of a better place to be than New York! Well, or with my family. Or in Italy. But seeing as that’s not an option right now, New York is the best I can come up with :) I’m super pumped.

We had a great week! On Thursday, we had a Sister’s Conference, where all of the sisters (including senior sisters) in the mission got together and we had some training and workshops and some lunch. It was fun to see everybody, especially my friends that I’ve either served with or lived with. It’s so great how many friends you make on the mission!

I’m simply loving this area. Everybody speaks Spanish! Pretty much all our appointments are within 10 minutes walking distance from wherever we are. We’re close to the church, close to the subway, close to laundry, close to a grocery store. We even have a little bodega (kind of like a gas station stop without the gas… it’s got like a deli-type sandwich shop in it usually) right close. The cool thing is, they’re really good friends with the missionaries! We speak to them in Spanish and they just love it. The owner is super generous. Just last night, he gave us some hot cocoa for free and tried to give us free food, but we were stuffed full from when we had a bunch of Dominican food that a member treated us to. We are so blessed, it’s ridiculous!

Also, the work is going wonderfully. We’re finding tons of people to teach! One lady we’re working with is named Belkis. She came to English class for a long time, and ended up coming to the Christmas party that we had. Once she saw that we’re normal people and that we dance and have fun, she was super impressed. She came to church on her own, and has been consistently coming. She’s read a bit in the Book of Mormon, too! I get a really good feeling about her. She came to a baptism this last week and invited two friends! Yep, pretty amazing. We also knocked into 4 Catholics on Sunday night. :) It sounded like they were having a party with some great music and the TV on, but they invited us in and turned the TV off (which NEVER happens!!) and we had a gospel discussion with them for 45 minutes. It was so cool! They really understood what we were saying and seemed pretty open to learning more.

In other news, this is probably the funnest district I’ve served in my whole mission! I just love being in the same district with all the missionaries that serve in the same ward. We end up helping each other out a lot and you just feel more connected to the missionary work as a whole that’s being done in the area. It’s a great support system. Plus, we have TONS of fun. I’ve heard a lot that if it isn’t fun, you aren’t doing it right (referring to missionary work in general). I agree! There’s a time and a place, of course, but I think even tracting (aka knocking doors) can be fun. You can make so many games out of it. It just goes to show that you can always have a positive experience with pretty much any situation if you just look at it the right way.
In closing, I’d like to state for the record that I’m losing ALL MY ENGLISH SKILLS. I’ve had to make several spelling and grammar corrections to this email alone. I swear, I think in Spanish, and I’m starting to spell things as they are in Spanish (there are a lot of cognates… it’s confusing!) So… pray for me. :) Just kidding. I don’t really need English for another 7 months or so.
Well, I love you all lots and lots. Have a wonderful week! The next time I write you, I will be 22 years old!! :)

Love,
Sister Rogers

 

One Response to “Everything is Going So Well Here!”

  1. Helena Marko January 18, 2013 at 2:46 AM #

    Happy Birthday my sweet grand-daughter. Can’t believe you will be 22. OMG. Love you lots!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

