Dominican Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul

29 Nov

Me and Mama Osorio cookin’ up platanos in the kitchen!

Dear family and friends,

What a week! Thanksgiving was an interesting experience, to say the least. I absolutely loved getting a peek into the lives of our lovely Latin members and seeing how they celebrate our American holiday. First of all, there are a few key differences. Latins, as we discovered (and much to our dismay), eat their Thanksgiving dinner at night! They don’t start at 2 or 3 in the afternoon, they start at 6, 7, or 8! That was a shocker. Also, while turkey is a staple dish, it is not the only one… what kind of Latin Thanksgiving would it be without rice?? And platanos, of course. Oh, it was such fun to observe. I made rice krispy treats and oatmeal cinnamon cookies and we took them around to some of the families in our ward. I tried to help them cook and prepare wherever we went. It was so much fun! We went around and around, visited with our ward members, and then finally, at 8 o’clock, we ate. :) It was a wonderful dinner that we shared with Ramona and Juan (our recent convert) and their family. It was super delicious! And such a cool experience. Gotta love holidays on the mission. The only thing that was lacking was homemade rolls and mashed potatoes… but that’s okay! There’s always next year.

This weekend was a bit of a dud, just because Sister Major had a terrible cold, so we stayed home for a lot of the time. It was kind of hard to be stuck inside for so long, but I’m not complaining too very much because it is FREEZING outside! Seriously. Any inside time I can get, I’ll take it. I’m stocking up on warm clothing as much as I can! I’m gonna need it to get through the winter.

Our ward is just SO great. We have a family that lives really close to us, and we called them one night and asked them if they had a can of soup or something that we could borrow. They didn’t, but they whipped up a huge pot of Dominican Chicken Noodle Soup and brought it right over! They called a lot and made sure that we were doing alright. Such a huge blessing, seriously. I love love love them!

By the time Sunday rolled around, Sister Major still wasn’t 100%, but she wanted to go to the first hour of church. So, we go, and I end up having a miraculous experience! It was pretty cool. When we walk into church, I hear Bishop asking another elder if he could translate for a man who was visiting our ward who didn’t speak any Spanish. This elder and his companion are both pretty new in the mission, and neither of them felt comfortable translating. My companion is sick, and doesn’t even have a voice to talk with, so… guess who it falls to to translate? Yep, yours truly. So I think, okay, I can do this. So I get up to the stand where he’s sitting, introduce myself, and then he hands me something. What is it? It’s his talk! I thought I”d just be translating the Spanish into English so that he could understand, but oh, no. They want me to translate his talk from English to Spanish in front of the whole ward! Holy moly. So I try to see who else could possibly translate, but there’s literally no one. So as church is starting, I’m reading over the talk, frantically trying to translate and racking my brain for vocabulary. (The first paragraph alone was all about triathalons and bikes and had words like “spoke” and “discs”, neither of which I know in Spanish). By the time I got to the second paragraph, one thing was very clear: There was no way I was going to be able to do this on my own. So I put the talk down and just start praying as hard as I can. Praying, praying, praying. Finally, after translating the first two talks from Spanish to English for him, it’s his turn to talk and I’m up. I’m holding the microphone in one hand and the printed copy of the talk in English in the other. As he starts to speak, I hear the words come out of my mouth in Spanish, and after that, they don’t stop. They just keep coming! If I can’t think of the exact word, another one comes to my mind that means the same thing. A couple of times, the ward had to help me out with a few words, but for the most part, I did just fine! And more than that, I spoke with the best accent I’ve ever had on my mission. I haven’t been able to get it back since then, but I know that I’m capable of it now :) What a miracle! I’m so grateful that I was able to put my trust and faith in the Lord and that He answered my prayer.

I know that the Lord hears our prayers and cares about us! In this busy holiday season, let’s not forget that the Lord is so conscious about everything we are going through, and He wants to help us– we just have to let Him. I’m so glad that I’ve finally learned my lesson about not relying on my own strength… because with the Lord’s help, I can do anything! And so can all of you :)

I love all of you lots and lots and lots! I hope you’re keeping warm and healthy.

Love,
Sister Rogers

One Response to “Dominican Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul”

  1. Veronica Dixie Rogers Bailey November 29, 2012 at 2:53 PM #

    Wow, Kelly…you are so cool..what a remarkable story…your ability to speak Spanish w/ the L-rd’s help…I love that. Blessings, Great Aunt Veronica

Leave a Reply

