“We Shouldn’t Wait Until We’re Ready to Die to Take Time to Really Live.”

12 Oct

My Compers in Yonkers!

Dear family and friends,

What a wonderful weekend we had! General Conference was SO doggone good. I absolutely loved it. I really learned a ton. I especially loved President Uchtdorf’s talk, and both of President Monson’s talks (from Priesthood and Sunday morning). One of my favorite quotes from President Uchtdorf was, “We shouldn’t wait until we’re ready to die to take time to really live.” We really do need to be finding joy in the journey! And it is possible. And BIG news with the age change! Now boys can start serving missions at age 18 and girls at age 19. We missionaries were super excited to hear that. I mean, it doesn’t affect us personally very much, but it could definitely mean some growth in our mission in the near future. It’s going to be really interesting to watch how things change as time goes on.

After Conference on Sunday night (and it was Sunday night— the second session of conference doesn’t start until 4 o’clock here!), our whole zone went over to President Morgan’s house for homemade waffles! It was such a blast and it was super yummy too. :) It’s cool being upstate because we get to see President and Sister Morgan and a lot of the senior couples more often. That’s been super great.

Although I still miss the city, I’m getting used to Yonkers and learning to appreciate it for its little quirks. For example, here in Yonkers, there are houses, not apartments…. but they’re apartments. Let me explain. So take any given street. It looks like a normal street, lined with houses. These are East Coast houses, so they’re super cute and every one of them is really original. You go up the steps to the house, and what do you do? You open the front door, so that you can get to the hallway where there are buzzers (usually one for each floor). The problem is, sometimes they’re NOT apartments, and they’re an actual house. Luckily we haven’t gone knocking any houses yet, but I’m kinda nervous to go– because you could go and knock on the front door, but nobody will ever answer because it’s not the real front door! Or you could just open up the door and walk into somebody’s house on accident. It’s a tricky thing :) I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it soon!

In other news, FALL has arrived! I absolutely love it. Everything here is SO gorgeous! The trees are beginning to change colors. I’ve taken up the habit of collecting pretty leaves.. I left a few in the car, only to find two days later that it got all crispy and broke! I wonder if there’s a better way to preserve pretty leaves :) I just love it. Autumn has always been my favorite season, and it’s so much better in New York than any other place I’ve ever been. The weather’s starting to get a little brisk, which is scary (I’m terrified for when the winter comes!!) but it’s refreshing and cool and it’s good for right now.

Not too much else to report! Everything’s good here. Love my companions, love the area, love the people. We’re helping Jose prepare for baptism– he’s so awesome! He ADORED Conference and is super excited for his baptism. It should be really great (it’ll be in a few weeks). I’m excited to start finding some new people here too! It’ll be good.

Well, that’s it for this week! Love you all :)

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

The fireplace stance.

The tripanionship- what, what?

Santa, not yet!

One Response to ““We Shouldn’t Wait Until We’re Ready to Die to Take Time to Really Live.””

  1. Veronica Rogers Bailey October 12, 2012 at 1:22 AM #

    Hej Neice Kelly…think of Hello Dolly.so proud of you………..Grreat Aunt Ronnyxoxo

Leave a Reply

