Well, Hello Kelly! It’s So Nice to Have You Back Where You Belong!

26 Sep

Missionaries!

Dear family and friends,
Well, it finally happened. I got transferred :( It was seriously so heartbreaking when I found out! I’ve been in the area for 6 months, so I thought it might be coming, but I was secretly hoping for one cycle more. Saying goodbye to the people in Harlem nearly killed me! It felt like I was leaving home. These people have become my family. And oh, what an amazing sendoff they gave me! We had another Noche de Hogar, and guess what? There were 40 nonmembers there! No joke! There was like a 2:1 member ratio! How ridiculous is that, right? It was amazing. I started crying during the lesson once the opening song was sung and had a hard time stopping for the rest of the night. But it was really touching because there were other people crying with me, other people who were sad to see me go as well. A couple of the members really went out of their way to make us feel loved! They passed around cards and had people write on them, and I got a few gifts here and there (a scarf, a cupcake, a wallet). It was so incredibly moving. These people have been my WORLD for the past six months and I love them dearly. I will miss them immensely.
But now, I have been assigned to serve in YONKERS! I am super excited to be here. What a cool name, Yonkers. It reminds me of Hello, Dolly! I love it. I’m serving in a trio with Sisters Richey and Major. They’re both awesome, and I’m really looking forward to getting to know them better and working with them. Yonkers is just above the Bronx, so it’s technically considered “upstate,” although I’m told that it’s just like the city, in that there are lots of people to talk to and a good amount of buildings. (People live in apartments, not houses, that kind of thing). So yeah! That’s pretty much all I’ve got to report right now. Lots of changes going on, and I’m sure it’s going to be quite an adjustment, but I’m looking forward to the challenge!
Much love,
Sister Rogers

Me with my English class ladies.

3 Responses to “Well, Hello Kelly! It’s So Nice to Have You Back Where You Belong!”

  1. Veronica Rogers Bailey September 26, 2012 at 11:04 PM #

    Well Hello DOLLY…yes, When we lived in Connecticut..always had to pass thru Yonker..isn’t that a neat name? Soooo Americano. Yes..it’s always sad to leave such loving and fun people where you are all on the same page…especially your first assignment…what does you dad and mom say?
    Encouragement, dear beautiful girl..Great Aunt Ronny XOXO SMACKS
    PS..if you’re ever in Sarasota…be sure to come and visit this aging Scarlett O’Hara…

  2. Susan Goodall September 26, 2012 at 11:13 PM #

    Sister Rogers……love your letter’s! Hunter was in one area for “8” months, it was really difficult for him to leave but then he found that they’re are great people everywhere you go! He is loving his mission so much! So glad to hear that you are doing so well and are so loved! Love, Susan Goodall

  3. Colleen Boyler September 26, 2012 at 11:17 PM #

    You look wonderful. :) Love, Cousin Colleen

Leave a Reply

