Be Loyal to the CORE!

5 Sep
Image
Dearest family and friends,
Another week down, another week packed with good experiences. We had Zone Conference last Thursday! It was a really great day that started with fresh New York bagels and orange juice and ended with quite a few new changes! President Morgan introduced to us the new theme of our mission: To be Loyal to the CORE. C, for courage, O for obedience, R for reverence and E for effort. The new logo of our mission is in the shape of an apple (because we’re in the Big Apple) and so the “core” is kind of literal! It was super cool. We also now have permission to go to the temple once every cycle if we want, whereas before it was only every other cycle. President also redrew the boundary line… by erasing it! We are now allowed to go to wherever we want in New York City, so long as we are wise. I’m so excited for this new opportunity to explore the city! On my list: Brooklyn Bridge, Empire State Building, Tiffany’s and the Rockerfeller Center. Oh, and in our last couple of cycles in the mission, we get to go to the Statue of Liberty, which is also new. How cool is that? It means a lot to me that President trusts us this much. He emphasized to make sure we don’t go looking for trouble, and that he trusts us not to.
We also had a member blitz this week, on Labor Day! We had 8 pairs of missionaries and 4 members that came with us to blitz! We went to Central Park, set up a table and got to work passing out cards and pamphlets. It was super cool to have the members so involved. I am seriously amazed by the members, especially the women in our ward. They were so welcoming and so loving. One of our ward missionaries, Hermana Rafaela, came to English class this past Friday. Right as soon as we were done, she grabbed the two women that were in class with us (just students, not members) and was like, “We’ve got an activity downstairs where we’re making earrings! Come!” And she wouldn’t take no for an answer. So they all went to the Relief Society activity that was going on and made earrings! I looked around and there were like 6 nonmembers there, and all of them just looked right at home. They were so welcomed and made to feel like one of the group. I’m so blessed to have these ladies for such a wonderful example.
On the down side, I got a little sick this weekend :/ It was kind of a bummer. Luckily I was able to snap out of it pretty quickly and was good to go on Monday, fresh as new. And another tender mercy– Mario, the recent convert who gave me the socks last week, pulled through and surprised me yet again. He got me a bag! It’s crazy, because my backpack just broke and I’ve really been needing a new one. And he randomly, out of nowhere, got me a bag. It’s got a ton of pockets in it and it’s absolutely perfect! I was so touched, I wanted to cry. He is just the sweetest man in the world. I don’t know what I’ve done to deserve such kindness and generosity from these wonderful people.
Here’s something I learned in my studies this week:
  • Jesus, while teaching the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5 and 6) teaches us that we need to love everyone. That’s not new, I knew that already. But this week, when I was reading and studying, I realized that when Jesus tells us to love everyone, even our enemies, he’s acknowledging that we are going to have enemies. The deeper doctrine that he’s teaching is that we shouldn’t expend our efforts in trying to make everyone love us, but to just love everyone we come in contact with. This really hit me hard, because I feel like a lot of times it’s so easy to get caught up in trying to please everyone and making everyone around you love you. Jesus teaches us that we need to focus on loving others, not on doing things that will make them love us. We will never be able to please everyone! That’s just a fact of life. We never will. There will always be people who aren’t our biggest fans, in one way or another. However, that is out of our control! What is in our control is how we view others. I just thought that was really cool.
So yeah… that’s about it for this week. I’m learning a lot, as always. Man, this mission thing really brings out your strengths and weaknesses, I’ll tell you what. But it’s a great environment to learn to change and improve, because things are ALWAYS changing. :) And I’m doing my best to learn something new every day. I encourage all of you to do the same! That’s how we get the most out of life.
Love you all!
Hermana Rogers
3 Responses to “Be Loyal to the CORE!”

  1. Aunt Christine September 6, 2012 at 1:17 AM #

    Hi sweetie! Again, it is so delightful to read your posts. I love the growth and the insight that you share with us. You’re such a wonderful example!
    Before I forget, can you please shoot me an email with your mailing address. I have a few things to send to you…and I want to make sure it ends up in the right hands. :0)
    I mentioned to Grandma about your need for a scripture case, and she’s on it. She doesnt remember the request, but you’re right…being in Utah…she can find one much easier than I can.
    We LOVE you Kelly. Enjoy the city more, now the the boundaries are erased. That’s so awesome…I’m a little jealous.
    I was thinking about how much I’d love to take my family to NYC someday, and then to Hoboken NJ where they film Cake Boss. Have you ever seen the show? We have watched every episode- they make the most incredible cakes!!!!! If we ever go, you’ll have to be our tour guide!
    Today, Jack started High School! Seriously! He’s a great kid, and I’m excited for him. Brandon started fourth grade today and LOVES his new teacher. He developes apps for computer games, so the kids work together to create their own. Should be fun.
    Hugs and kisses to you!!! Love, Aunt Christine

  2. Veronica Rogers Bailey September 6, 2012 at 1:20 AM #

    Hermana Kelly..how did you become so wise? I’m so incredibly impressed with you..I use to be LDS tho i left the church, as my dear deceased sister, Toni, did too…Tho Bro Don..your grampa stayed and oh what a famly he and Gramma Janet created..so proud of you..hope to meet you someday..tho rather soon as I’m getting OLD.
    XOXO Aunt Ronny…

  3. Helena Marko September 6, 2012 at 3:03 AM #

    Kelly, What a true statement about not pleasing everyone, but loving everyone. I find that happening in our own family. Sometimes you try and then try harder, but to no avail. I just pray that our Heavenly Father awakens that love in some members of our family. I truly feel sorry for them. Love you with all my heart and soul.

Leave a Reply

