Lessons To Be Learned…

29 Aug

English Classes- FREE, FREE- Take a flyer!

Dearest friends and families,
I’m realizing more and more the farther I get into my mission that every week is full of lessons to be learned, but I’ve got to be watching for them! This week was absolutely filled with wonderful experiences.
Here are just a few of the lessons I’ve learned in my short time here in New York:
  • How to shrug things off and let it go– there are so many people that come up to us in the streets (sometimes intoxicated, other times, all too sober) and criticize us for our religion. They’ll yell at us, get all up in our face and scream inaccurate “facts” so the whole world can hear. It happens on a weekly basis, and it’s gotten to the point where I realize that all I can do is laugh it off! It’s not worth it to get upset over little things, especially coming from some of the crazy people we meet here. I’ve really learned how to laugh first, which keeps my spirits higher and keeps me from judging or having mean thoughts.
  • This one I learned from Sister Aguirre this week: Don’t get frustrated. If it doesn’t work out, it’s because it wasn’t supposed to! This is something that I haven’t fully grasped yet and I’m still working on it, but basically this is how it came about: we had an appointment set up with one of our investigators. I had called him the day before, the morning of and one other time to confirm the appointment and every single time, I very clearly said that we would be meeting at the chapel. So it’s thirty minutes before the appointment and I call him to make sure he’s on his way, and he says, “Yeah, I’m waiting for you here in the park!” Because of the time it would take to travel there and back, there was no way we could make it to the appointment and get to our next appointment on time. I was really frustrated for a good ten minutes, because I had made every effort to set it up and make sure we were all on the same page. But then Sister Aguirre taught me, if it didn’t work out, it’s because it wasn’t supposed to. Maybe there was somebody else we needed to talk to, or maybe there was a reason that we shouldn’t have met with him today. She’s mentioned something along these lines before– when I’ve worried about getting out of an appointment on time so we can make it to our next appointment, she’s cool as a cucumber, because she realizes that the Lord will take care of it. It’s all in His hands. I’ve just got to realize it and apply it so I stop stressing about stupid little things. :) Slowly but surely, it’s working out.
We had some super fun things going on this week. We did quite a few blitzes, which is what we call it when two or more pairs of missionaries gather together and set up a table with some pamphlets and Books of Mormon and contact people who walk by. We did a couple just for church, and then we did one that was especially for english class! We set up a table in a heavily-Spanish area and gave out some free lemonade! It was Elder Meadows’ idea, and it was executed quite nicely. We had signs and everything and handed out a lot of fliers. It was so fun! English class continues to be wonderful. The other blitz that we did was midtown, by 59th and Central Park, or Columbus Circle as it’s called round these parts :) We were right by the Trump Tower! It was super cool. While blitzing, I got to meet one of the new greenies that just came into the mission, fresh off his ranch in Nevada. His name is Elder Higbee, and he’s so great! And turns out he’s an exact replica of one of my best friends from home, Neils Hazen! :) I just about freaked out when I started getting to know him because it was so creepy. He likes wrestling, hunting and has the exact same sense of humor. It was seriously a tender mercy, because I was having kind of a hard day, and then we were blitzing and I realized that he was Neils in another body, and it was just what I needed to cheer me up :)
Also, we had another noche de hogar last week and it went spectacularly!! We had some serious success. There were tons of investigators there (like 11!) and lots of members too. Everybody felt really comfortable and it was awesome. Some of our English class students even came! That probably made me the most excited.
Other little things that have brought me joy this week:
  • Mario, a recent convert from Honduras– he sells socks on the street for a living, and occasionally does bussing at a restaurant (who’s pretty much the sweetest man I’ve ever met in my life)– gave me a package of socks! They were about 3 sizes too big for me and I ended up giving them to an elder in my district, but I was seriously so touched. It kind of felt like the widow’s mite.
  • I’ve started a mini journal (another something I’ve copied from Sister Aguirre!) to write down tender mercies, funny moments, quotes I hear– pretty much whatever. I’m LOVING it! It’s great to be able to look back and see the cool experiences and thoughts I’ve had throughout the week. It’s a more accurate collection than my journal cause I write them down as they happen :)
  • We were on the subway and these guys came on, cranked up a boom box and started break dancing! Usually people will come in and play instruments or something, but I’ve NEVER seen hard core, legit dancing! It was soo cool. I took a video :)
  • Tender mercy: I didn’t exactly budget super well this month, and kind of ran out of money for food… :) haha it wasn’t like I didn’t have any food, but I just had to be a little bit more careful in planning and packing food and my supply was running a little low… and then lo and behold, we got a TON of dinner appointments scheduled for this week! We usually have maybe one or two, but this week we have 3-5 scheduled. Talk about a blessing!
 Well, I love you all so very much. Thank you for your prayers and love. Know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. :)
Con mucho amor,
Hermana Rogers
2 Responses to “Lessons To Be Learned…”

  1. Veronica Rogers Bailey August 30, 2012 at 12:58 PM #

    Enjoy your postings, Kelly and the pictures. You are learning so much and maturing beautifully…Great Aunt Veronica Dixie Rogers Bailey

  2. Carol August 30, 2012 at 7:03 PM #

    Maybe I need to hang around Sister Aguirra for a while, what great lessons you are learning to take with you for the rest of your life. You are so blessed to be able to have these experiences and learn from them unlike some others of us who are a little bit older and still have not learned these things. lol! Love you lots and glad to heard your doing so well.

Leave a Reply

