I Cannot Do This On My Own!

24 Aug

Yasiris’ Baptism. So great shall be your joy!

Dear family and friends,
Well, it’s a new cycle, and summer is finally winding to a close. Thank goodness! The air is getting cooler, the leaves are just slightly starting to change color, and we sweat just a teensy bit less :) On good days, that is. Although sad it was saying goodbye to Sister Taylor, I couldn’t have asked for a better companion to replace her. Sister Aguirre is amazing! She’s super sweet, and always has a positive spin to put on things. Every time I hear her Spanish, I just want to drool, it’s that beautiful and clear. I’m definitely hoping to up my Spanish skills just by being around her for six weeks.
This week, Yassiris was confirmed in church, which was a super happy occasion. We gave her a photo album that had some pictures and some testimonies and stuff written down in it. On the not-so-happy note, well, more just frustrating… taking over the area is a lot harder than I thought it would be! I figured since I’ve been here for well over 4 months that I wouldn’t have any problems with it… but it’s a whole lot of responsibility to decide where we’re going and when and who we need to visit and this and that! Usually I’m super good at remembering things, but the first couple of days, I kept forgetting things all over the place. Now I’m being extra cautious, writing everything down, and praying with everything I’ve got that I don’t forget anything that’s really super important. And it’s starting to work, slowly but surely. Things are starting to come together more smoothly. But I’m definitely learning a big lesson in humility, because I am 110% sure now, more than I ever was, that I cannot do this on my own! So yeah, definitely an interesting week.
I’m still loving my English class! My students are just so great. Even though I’m not the best teacher, they’re super patient with me and they’re so willing to learn. I love teaching at an advanced level, because the students are there to perfect their English– they’re striving for excellence, which means they’re willing to work hard to get there. I love it!
Oh yeah! And another cool thing– this week, we had a non-member come out to tract with us! She’s investigating the church and will probably get baptized soon, but she told us she wanted to come and see what life as a missionary was like for a day. It was pretty sweet, we knocked some doors and even had an impromptu lesson when someone invited us in, and the lesson went really well. It was super cool. This is the same girl who is like a teacher’s assistant in my English classes- she’s fluent in both languages, and she just comes to help out. She’s pretty amazing.
Well, that’s about it! I’ve attached some of the pictures from the baptism last week. Love you all!
Con amor,
Hermana Rogers
2 Responses to “I Cannot Do This On My Own!”

  1. Veronica Rogers Bailey August 24, 2012 at 1:28 AM #

    Gosh, Kelly…your mom and dad must be so proud of you; I’ve never met you and I’m very very very proud of you…you’re doing great, Kid. You’ll be fine …you have the HolySpirit with you always…………Love your take on Harlem..who knew that a little girl like you from Utha, no less, would be living in Harlem…Congrats all over the place…Great Aunt Ronny

  2. Carol August 30, 2012 at 7:19 PM #

    As you will be able to tell, I am catching up on your life as a missionary. I do not get on the computer very much these days and thought I’d take some secial time out of my day for you. Your experiences are very inspiring to me and it is wonderful to see my little girl growing up. You are a great example to others young and old. I love that you are able to share with us, what a wonderful thing “technology”. I think about you all the time and I know Heavenly Father looks over you because I ask him to every week when I put your name in his Temple. I love you very much. Thanks again for sharing your love for the Gospel and for those you teach.

Leave a Reply

