Today is My Official SIX MONTH MARK!

8 Aug

Hermana Rogers Outside of Columbia Law School

 

Dear family and friends,

Well, what an interesting week this has been/ is turning out to be! I’ll start with the good news. First and most exciting, Yasiris’ baptism is this Sunday! We could not be more excited. We ordered her a hymnbook in the mail (and it came in time!) and got her and her daughter both journals. We’re going to make them a photo album too. Maybe it’s a little overboard, but I don’t care. I’m so excited! And they are so pumped too. They’re ready :) Also, our English class continues to grow in size. My small grammar class is getting a little bigger every week. It’s so cool to see the faces that come every week and to recognize them. To see how they progress with their pronunciation and understanding is super rewarding.

Also, today is my official SIX MONTH MARK! Six short (and long) months ago, my grandparents dropped me off at the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah… and now, here I am, smack dab in Harlem with another year to go. Wow, that feels weird to say. With that, I’m starting to realize how hard it’s going to be to say bye to some of these people. We’ve got transfers coming up this next P-Day… chances are most likely that Sister Taylor is leaving and I’ll be staying here and taking over the area. It’s possible she’ll stay, but not probable. Which means that after that, I probably won’t be staying in Harlem for very long. :( Luckily I don’t have to think about that for a while. A side note– one of the changes that President Morgan has instituted is that we’re going to be doing transfers a little bit differently. Before, it has been really loud and social with lots of yelling and just excitement, which has been super great and fun. Now we’re going to take it in a little bit of a different direction and make it more of a spiritual thing, where we have a message that’s shared and we welcome the new missionaries in the chapel. (PS, we have 19 new missionaries coming in! All elders, not a single sister. How crazy is that?!)

This week was probably the most trying week in terms of food… I’ve done pretty well up until now about eating almost, if not all of my food, and eating whatever they feed me. But we had two particular days this weekend that were just plain rough. Thursday night, we had an appointment that was around dinner time, so Sister Taylor and I packed a dinner and just ate it before. THEN we get a text from our old ward mission leader telling us that he wants us to come over and eat. We had told the elders that we weren’t going to be able to make it to his house because of an appointment, but I guess he just wouldn’t take no for an answer! So we booked it over there and ate a big dinner of rice, ceviche (which is a citrus-y shrimp dish)… plus dessert. While I was there, I spilled. (of course!) After that appointment, we were STUFFED and could barely move. THEN this last weekend, we had a lunch appointment with a member– he made enchiladas… with green picante sauce. For those of you who don’t know, picante means spicy. Apparently, this was mild spicy, but let me tell you… it was NOT mild. I had to scrape it off the top of my enchiladas and I was STILL dying. I just ate it as fast as I could and tried not to let it show that I was dying on the inside. Unfortunately, the guy whose house we were at definitely saw my pain and I had to apologize… I told him that it was really good, but that my mouth was on fire. He laughed and was good-natured about it. But still, STRU-GGLE. To the max. THEN…. we had a dinner appointment that night with a less active lady. She made us papusas, which are usually pretty good. These ones just had a lot of cheese in them. I managed to get one down, but I was still really full from lunch. When she plopped another one on my plate, I thought I was going to lose it. I mouthed to Sister Taylor across the table, “I think I’m going to throw up.” So Sister Taylor gets up, pretends to look for something in her backpack, and slyly brings my backpack over to by where I’m sitting. She hands me a paper towel, and whispers, “There’s an open plastic bag in the backpack. Don’t get caught.” I didn’t get what she wanted me to do at first, but then, it hit me like a miracle. I put the paper towel in my lap, cut the papusa up into little pieces and then when the lady wasn’t looking, I slipped it into my lap, piece by piece, then slipped the full paper towel into the plastic bag that was waiting by my backpack. What can I say? Desperate times call for DESPERATE measures!

Also, we’ve realized that we have some bad luck when it comes to plumbing… yep, that’s right. Plumbing. At district meeting on Monday, we smelled something HORRID… turns out it was the baptism font! We ended up cleaning it all out, only to realize that it was coming from a pipe that we couldn’t even reach. So hopefully that gets figured out before Yasiris’ baptism on Sunday! Haha. But then came the REAL trouble… yesterday, our bathtub started making this bubbly sound. It’s done it before, so we didn’t mind it much. When we looked at it later, it was full of dirt and gunk and was filling up with water. When we came back from working that day, the water had gone down so we thought it was fine. But then… it just kept filling and filling up with water. The sisters were up until like 1:30 trying to get it to go down and using a bucket to empty it from the tub into the toilet. (I had gone to bed earlier so I had no idea any of this had happened until this morning). Then someone was ringing on our bell a ton this morning because apparently the water was leaking into the apartment underneath us! To make a long story short, we had a plumber come this morning and he couldn’t get it fixed, so now we have to go back so that another plumber can come and try to fix it. Some P-Day, huh? Haha now we’ll finally get caught up on all the letters we need to write!

Well, I love you all lots and lots. Sorry this email was so long! Be prepared for some awesome pictures of Yasiris’ baptism this week and updated news about if I have a new companion or not! :)

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

6 Month Mark Sign from fellow Sister Missionaries

Leave a Reply

