Greetings From the UN !

11 Jul

Dearest friends and family,

Greetings from the UN! Right at this very moment, I am emailing you
from a computer in the United Nations. Wicked cool, right? We have a
member in our ward who works here and he offered to give us a personal
tour! We got to see all the big council/treaty-signing rooms. It was
super cool. (I’ll send pictures next week or later today.) It’s a
pretty cool place. Just another one of the AMAZING opportunities and
cool experiences I’m having serving here in the city. PS we had to go
through the Grand Central subway station to get here… I feel so
legit!

So last week for the 4th of July, we had a pretty chill night. We went
to the rooftop and watched some fireworks. I have to say, I miss
fireworks in Texas and Utah… all the buildings kind of got in the
way :/ But it was fun! I also hit my 5 month mark this week! So
surreal. In one more month, I will be a third of the way done with my
mission…. freaky!

Also, I saw an old friend at church on Sunday! Sister McKinnon, my old
young’s women leader, who moved here about four and a half years ago,
is in the stake relief society presidency and came to visit our ward.
It was so great to see her! Always nice to see a friendly face. We
also had our first session of English class this week– we weren’t
sure how many people were going to show up and we didn’t know how
successful we would be… but it was so great! We had 20-25 people
show up, and all of them had heard about the classes different
ways…. fliers, texts, friends, etc. I’m so excited! We’re going to
be having classes Tuesdays and Fridays, and it looks like all the
companionships in our district are going to need to pitch in and help
teach, which  makes me happy. I love teaching!

Highlights of this week:
– The man who rode by on his bike with a huge, giant snake wrapped
around his body while we were teaching somebody in Central Park.
Frrrreaky.
– The bird that pooped on Sister Taylor’s foot while we were
contacting someone. Bless her soul, she didn’t even blink. She just
kept going, then freaked out the second the guy we were talking to
walked away. I, of course, couldn’t stop laughing. :)

So, yeah! Everything’s going great! The weather isn’t too dreadfully
terrible most of the time, and I’m a good girl and put on my sunscreen
every day. (See, Mom? You taught me well!) I’m really happy with where
everything’s at here in Harlem. I really do love it here. Thank you
for all your support and love! I hope everyone has a wonderful week
and stays cool!

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

One Response to “Greetings From the UN !”

  1. Veronica Bailey July 12, 2012 at 2:16 AM #

    Hello Kelly…tho you don’t know me…I’m your great aunt Veronica Rogers Bailey..my mother is Astrid Backe..married to Joesph Rogers…I only met your dad once…my brother is your grampa Don……………you seem to have that undeniabily Backe spirit…take a chance..Gramma Backe left Norway when my mother was about 6 months ole.a pemie..on a SHIP probably in steerage…and live to be 97 years old..you’ve got the Norske in your blood..so very proud of you, Kelly..You got “IT”..great aunt Veronica…G-d Bless you always.

Leave a Reply

