It Was Pretty Much the Biggest Turn Out For a Baptism I’ve Ever Seen!

26 Jun

Dear friends and family,

Well, P-Day came one day early this week! This is due to the fact that today we had transfers, and it just fell on an abnormal day. Luckily, neither Sister Taylor or I are getting transferred!! We get to stay in Harlem for the whole summer. I am so PUMPED! I really do love it here and I’m so glad I get to stay. It’s definitely not my time to go yet :) Sadly, we had to say goodbye to Sister Lotuleilei, who got transferred to the Bronx. I’m sad to see one of my Tongan sisters go, but now we get a new sister living with us! She’s from Italy and is awesome! I’m going to get her to teach me some Italian :)
A few cool things that happened this week– we went to the Yankee’s game! It was great fun. We went with our whole district and zone and sat way up high in the bleachers, in the shade. It was heavenly. The game was super chill and laid back, and it was just a lot of fun. (See pictures!)
We also had a great activity this weekend with our ward– a picnic at Central Park! It was great, and we had a couple of investigators show up and get to know some people in the ward. We’re also having another Noche de Hogar tonight, so hopefully we’ll have a lot of people come to that. And to top it all off– we had a baptism this Sunday! Yahaira, the 11 year old girl we’ve been teaching, got baptized right after church this Sunday. There were SO many people there! They just stayed later after all our meetings ended and it was pretty much the biggest turn out for a baptism I’ve ever seen. And it was in half Spanish/half English. Really interesting :) I sang with this wonderful woman named Olga who I just had the pleasure of meeting this week. She is absolutely AMAZING! Her voice is beautiful and it was just a wonderful experience. I’m really looking forward to visiting with Olga some more– she hasn’t been coming to church for 18 years, more or less, has 4 kids, and is blind. She is one of the sweetest spirits I have ever met. We connected right away, and I feel a very close friendship with her already.
Last but not least… we’re having a serious cockroach issue in our apartment! It’s a little bit ridiculous. We’ve put out a bajillion traps and STILL they come! I don’t know what we’re going to do but I’m about to go crazy. We’re going to have to launch an attack soon. And with the start of a new cycle, that means I’m making lots of new planner covers! I have requests from at least 4 elders for me to make theirs as well…. so I guess I’m going to have to get my creative juices flowing! I’m so glad that I can still do a little bit of crafting on the mission. (Yes, I am super nerdy!) And other than that… we’re just getting ready for our new mission president! He comes in this week, and we’ll get to meet him on the 3rd of July. I can’t believe it’s almost the 4th of July! That’s so crazy. This last 5/6 weeks just FLEW by. I’m sure this summer is going to go by in the blink of an eye. This whole year did, looking back. I can’t believe this time last year I was an EFY counselor. It feels like it was just yesterday! I’m sure in a year I’ll look back at this time with the same feeling. It’s crazy how time works, isn’t it?
Well, I love you all lots and lots. Know that you are in my prayers :) Write me! :)
Love,
Sister Rogers


2 Responses to “It Was Pretty Much the Biggest Turn Out For a Baptism I’ve Ever Seen!”

  1. Veronica Bailey (great aunt ronny) June 27, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

    Kelly: Boric Acid Powder to kill cockroaches. And, bay leafs..no kidding..the entire east coast from Main to Florida is the cockroach AND termite belt..my exterminator told me to use boric acid and explains…they walk across it and dries them out. And bay leaves have some kind of gas they don’t like…since putting this powder everywhere..have not seen one in years…if you see one in daylight..it’s sick and dying..healthy ones only come out in dark. FYI Great Aunt Ronny

  2. Carol Ray July 5, 2012 at 3:14 AM #

    I just love that you’re having such a great time on your mission. I miss you very much and I look forward to your homecoming…in due time. You are a wonderful little spirit and I’m glad others get to see what I’ve seen for years! I love you Kelly and you are always in my heart and prayers.

Leave a Reply

