There’s Just a Really Cool Vibe in the Air, to be in the City That Never Sleeps!

14 Jun
Hola familia y amigos,
 
 
So this week, I hit my monumental 4 MONTH MARK! Haha I know it’s not too exciting, but I’ve now officially been in New York longer than I was in the MTC, which feels big. I really am falling in love with the city. I wasn’t sure I was going to for awhile, just because of how scary some things are and all the noises and smells and such… but I really do love it here. The buildings are just amazing, and the trees, when you’re around them, are fantastic. Central Park is amazing and there’s just a really cool vibe in the air, to be in the city that never sleeps. Every day I fall in love with it more.
 
 
I’ve been especially loving it recently because the weather has been incredibly merciful. I was a little worried a few weeks back, and loaded up on sunscreen and was lathering it on every day… but lately it’s been very overcast and even rainy! I am not complaining one bit about the rain. It means I’m not sweating and getting sunburned :) I’m sure it will warm up soon, but for now I am living it up! Also, quick little note…. I’m pretty sure I saw one of the actors from “House” the other week! The one that’s the short doctor who cheats on his wife… I’m sure he’s a great person in real life. I don’t know if he actually lives in New York and maybe I’m going crazy, but I was closer to downtown when I saw him, so it’s totally plausible. If it had been right smack in the middle of Harlem, I’d have more doubts, but I swear it was him!
 
 
Also, funny little story: the other night we went to dinner at a member’s house with the two Tongan sisters that we live with. Before heading over there, we had ran into a couple of the other missionaries. During that time, one of the elders, Elder Fontanella, took Sister Taylor and I’s house key, thinking it’d be really funny (also knowing that we were with the other sisters that we lived with, so we’d be able to get inside still…) but when we got home, we discovered that we didn’t have the key and figured out that Elder Fontanella had taken it. So we decided to prank him back! We had Sisters Lotuleilei and Lavaki text them and tell them that they’d accidentally left their bag with the keys in it at our member’s house and that we had to walk all the way back there to get it. We made a big deal about being locked out, and he felt really bad and was on his way to bring us back our key when we decided to be nice and tell him that we were kidding. He was super embarassed and it was sweet, sweet revenge. Moral of the story: don’t mess with the sisters… we’ll get you back! :)
 
 
So we’re teaching a couple of really cool people right now. For a while it was kind of disappointing, because we’d teach somebody and get really excited about the next lesson, and then we wouldn’t be able to meet up with them again– either they don’t answer their phone or they aren’t interested or they’re never home or too busy with work– whatever it was, it was just really sad that nothing really panned out. I love finding and teaching new people, but it stinks when you don’t get to have that time to get to know them better and really form that friendship. But right now, we have a couple of families that we are SUPER excited about! We’re teaching a mom and her two kids, and also the mom’s sister and her one son. They came to church a couple of weeks ago and LOVED it! We’ve taught them 4-5 times and are planning on teaching them later in the week. The kids are so sweet and excited to learn. We were a little worried for a minute, because they were supposed to come to church last week but canceled last minute… but we talked with the mom yesterday and she told us that she’s been reading in the Book of Mormon from the beginning and had already read 11 chapters! It was so cool for me to see someone actually taking the initiative and following through with the challenge we had given her to read and to find out for herself what the Book of Mormon contains. I really hope that she continues reading and wanting to meet with us.
 
 
The other lady we’re teaching and that we’re excited about is a single mom from the Dominican Republic, and her 8 year old daughter. Her husband died a little while ago, and now she’s just on her own trying to support herself and her daughter. She already reads the Bible every night and really cares about doing what’s right and having the Lord in her life. We’ve taught her twice and have another lesson with her set up for tomorrow. We actually brought a member with us last time, and they got along really well, and we’re having our next lesson in the member’s house! I just have a really good feeling about this mom and daughter. I loved teaching them about how they can see their husband/father again after this life! I take it for granted so many times the knowledge that I have of that, and forget that other people don’t always have that peace. I’m grateful that we have the Book of Mormon to teach us more about how our families really can be together forever. It’s just a great blessing that I’ve kind of taken for granted.
 
 
Speaking of the Book of Mormon… we just set a new goal as a district that I’m super excited about. We’ve decided that everywhere we go, we are going to carry around a Book of Mormon with us in our hands, in stead of just in a backpack or bag. That way, it will help remind us to share the Book of Mormon and it will be right there and we can just show people what it is! Also, when people see us, they’ll be able to even more easily identify us as missionaries and associate that image of us with the Book of Mormon. It really is the key to everything that our church is based on– of course, Jesus Christ is the head, but the Book of Mormon and the  knowledge it gives us is so important. So I’m interested to see how that affects/changes our interactions with people!
 
 
Well, that’s about all that’s going on right now. No crazy stories… this week! We’re planning on going to the Museum of Natural History (yes, the same one from the movies…. I think?) with our district. I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures so I can send them next week! I love and miss you all. Thank you for your support and love.
 
Con amor,
Hermana Rogers
Leave a Reply

