Just Another Week in the City!

16 May

Hola!

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all of the wonderful women in my life who have been such a great support to me. I hope that everyone’s day went well. It was so great to talk to my family! It super great to hear everyone’s voice.

Not too much new to report this week. Just another week in the city! We taught lessons, although a lot of them fell through… again. It’s kind of discouraging, but then we always find new people to teach, so it’s all good. We went to a member’s house for dinner the other day and he totally made fun of my accent– not that it was bad, he said it just sounded like I was from the south– which I claimed proudly :) He told my companion that her accent was Russian-sounding, so that was fun.

So we’ve got this joke going in our apartment… it’s kind of a funny thing. So one of the members in our roommate’s ward was moving and gave us this huge cardboard cutout that’s life size of an old man holding a Book of Mormon… we think it’s supposed to be Hugh Nibley cause there’s a quote from him on the back. Anyways, we keep putting it in different places around our apartment to scare the other companionship. Mostly I’m the only one screaming…. big surprise there. But I’m including some pictures of that cause it’s kind of funny.

One of the lessons I’m learning more and more as I’m out here is that I really can do anything that I set my mind to. I know this is a silly example, but this morning we played ping pong with some of the other missionaries in our zone. I’ve never really been very good at ping pong, but I played for a good chunk of time and got some tips on how to improve, and since I didn’t give up, I was able to get better! It was the same in the MTC with volleyball, and it’s the same with the Spanish language and everything else. Just because you’re not good at something or it doesn’t come naturally doesn’t mean that you can’t do it. That’s what I’m learning. If I want something badly enough and I dedicate the time to learn it and to become better at it, I can and will improve. It’s a wonderful thing, and I’m really grateful that’s a lesson that I’m learning.

Well, I hope everyone has a good week! Thanks for all of your letters and support.

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

PS- Thanks to the Dripping Springs Seminary Class and their package/letters! It was so thoughtful and great to receive that.

One Response to “Just Another Week in the City!”

  1. Veronica Rogers Bailey May 16, 2012 at 10:45 PM #

    Kelly…you have that ‘can do’ spirit…love your attitude…where was this pix taken? Atop what building? Aunt Ronny

Leave a Reply

