Be Prepared to Run!

9 May

Hola familia y amigos!

Well, this week I officially hit my 3 month mark! I am now 1/6th of the way through my mission. So crazy! I’m sure it’s going to be so fast, so I’m trying to enjoy every day to the best of my ability. PS, WELCOME TO NEW YORK, Sister Jones! I’m so excited you are here, even if we aren’t in the same city. :)

This week, all of the missionaries in Manhattan had the great opportunity of volunteering at the Revlon Run/Walk for Cancer in Times Square! There were so many people there and it was just really cool to be a part of that event. We handed out signs to groups that were running. It was neat to be in Times Square, because usually we’re not allowed to be down that far. On our way back home, my tiny bladder FINALLY did me some good because we had to stop into a couple of really cool stores to use the bathroom– Toys R Us and M&M World. I’m attaching some fun pictures we took as well :)

This morning my companion and I went over to a member’s house to learn how to cook Mexican food (she’s from Mexico, so it was pretty legit.) She taught us how to make Mexican seasoned rice and taquitos. Hopefully I’ll be a pro at cooking Mexican food by the time I’m home. And lots of other types of food, for that matter. I’m going to ask the people whose homes we visit to teach me their recipes and tricks so that I will have a plethora of countries to select meals from.

So, for all of you who have never had the joy of using a public transportation system on a regular basis, allow me to paint you a picture of what you can expect, should you ever move to a place where there is one. First of all, be prepared to run the second you enter the station, because as soon as you hear that sound of a subway– even if you don’t know if it’s yours or not– you run, because if you miss it, chances are you will have to wait a good 10 minutes or so before another one comes around. It’s such a fulfilling feeling catching the subway just in the nick of time, and it’s just the opposite when you just miss it. I usually get my metro card out way before we even get to the station, because I know there’s a good chance I’ll have to make a run for it.

Here are some of the interesting experiences I’ve had on subways:

  • Homeless people entering the train car and making an announcement asking for money. One of these that sticks out in my mind is a man who lost his eye when someone attacked him with a knife a while back. Yes, he did show it to us. That was pleasant. I guess subways are a good place for homeless people to solicit money because everyone is sitting down and can’t escape. It’s different from Austin or somewhere else where cars have to wait at stoplights and people aren’t walking everywhere suuuper duper fast. So good on them for improvising, I guess.
  • Crazy people. This week, an old man decked out in a hat, suit jacket and suit pants (all of different colors, mind you) came in yelling, “Can an old man have a seat? I said, can an old man have a seat?” (Picture this in a deep, gospel-y type voice). I was standing up and felt bad, cause I couldn’t really do anything for the guy. Nobody moved at all. So he goes, “Fine. I’m just gonna sing then.” And then he starts singing at the top of his lungs, “She give me money, when I’m in need…” Classic Ray Charles. Stuff like that happens ALL the time on the subways.

Mostly, my experiences on the subways consist of me trying not to stumble or fall every time it comes to a stop, looking for people who might speak Spanish, while all the while trying to keep an eye out for which stop we need to get off on. It’s like juggling! A couple of times, we’ve accidentally gone past our stop, just because we were talking with somebody or giving them a Book of Mormon. Then we just get off and turn around and take the train back down. Like I said, you learn to adjust. But really, the subway is pretty cool. I mean, it’s dirty and smelly sometimes, and you’ve got to watch out for the puddles in the station, cause you never know what liquid substance it might be… but it’s generally pretty safe and you meet some pretty cool people.

 

I’m just feeling so grateful this week. We’ve had a couple of experiences that really made me look back and evaluate all of the wonderful blessings I’ve had growing up. We met a woman who was getting evicted out of her apartment and had nowhere to turn– no family, no money, and only a part-time job. Another one of the people we met with is here all alone working to pay for expensive medicine that his wife needs. I think about my life and about how even though sometimes things were hard, I always had a roof over my head and food to eat and family that I could turn to. So many of the people we meet are in such humble circumstances or just barely getting by. Some have family that has abandoned them, others have to work two jobs seven days a week in order to provide for their family. Honestly, that’s one of the biggest challenges we have, is finding time to meet with some of these people who literally work ALL the time. I can’t imagine that kind of pressure, or the kind of stress that puts on a person.

 

Luckily, this week, we found a super awesome guy to teach! His name is Carlos, and he has six daughters, and he’s just awesome. We had an incredible lesson with him last night. He had so many questions and really listened and was really diligently seeking to learn. We have another appointment with him tomorrow night (two lessons with the same investigator in one week! It’s a miracle!) and we are just so excited to teach him.

 

Well, that’s about all I’ve got for this week! I love and miss you all. Thank you for your prayers and support! :)

Con amor,

Hermana Rogers


Leave a Reply

