Branching Out of My Comfort Zone

26 Apr

Querido familia y amigos,

Hola! Right now I am writing from the Family History Center in the Manhattan Temple! It’s pretty cool to be downtown where everything is crazy and bustling but to be inside in a peaceful place :) I actually came here last week for the first time and it was such a cool experience to feel the peaceful spirit that’s here.
This week has been good, definitely a few interesting things happening here and there. It was kind of a bummer, because a lot of our appointments fell through this week. It’s frustrating, just because so many of our investigators are awesome people and I just want to teach them so bad! But we just have to work with their schedules and hope for the best. We’ve gotten to visit with a lot of the members in our ward though, and they’re just great. Sometimes they feed us, and I’m learning to try all sorts of new food. Those of you who know how picky of an eater I am…. you would be very proud to know that I have definitely branched out of my comfort zone, and it turns out that a lot of the food that I’m trying really isn’t that bad! Some of it is actually way good. Plus I think maybe all food just tastes better on your mission if you don’t have to make it or go out and buy it!
Speaking of food/ restaurants, the other day we were out with the other elders in our district, and we saw the “Tom’s Restaurant,” the one that is on Seinfeld! I’ve attached a picture for fun :) It’s actually pretty cool, because all of the elders in our district are in our ward as well, we we get to see them pretty often. It’s nice to have that unity and get to know each other a bit. We’ve got some seriously solid elders around here. I’m very glad to have met them! They’ve been really nice to me too.
Sad day– I lost one of my nametags a couple of days ago! I don’t know how it happened, but all of a sudden, I looked down and it was gone. I’ve ordered a couple of new ones, but who knows how long it will be until I get another one. Now I just have to keep switching the one nametag I own to and from my coat and the shirt I have underneath my coat whenever I go inside or outside. :) But happy times, we got to do a fair amount of service this week! One of the members in a neighboring ward needed help painting her apartment, so we and another pair of elders went over and painted. It was definitely a change of pace, so that was kind of cool. I’m also trying to convince my district leader to let us start an English class here, where we would be teaching English to people who only speak Spanish. I think that’d be a super cool thing to do. As of right now, my Spanish is coming along alright. I carry around a little notebook with me and jot down phrases that I hear, or pepper members for the answers to my vocabulary questions. There are a few where we have a system going, where I help them with their English and then they help me with my Spanish! I think that will be super helpful in the long run.
In other trivial news, I got a little sick this week. :( Being sick on the mission is not very fun at all. But I made it through and I think I’m on the up and up. The weather’s also been super loopy– one day it’s hot and the next it’s POURING rain. But it’s okay, because my companion and I play in the puddles on our way home. :) I really do love it here. There are so very many things to see and new experiences to be had. Every day is a bit of an adventure, and I’m getting better at talking to random people without getting super scared. My companion’s great, and so are the other two sister missionaries we live with (They’re Tongan and they’re teaching us the Haka. Jealous?)
Anyways, I hope everyone is doing well! I sure do miss you all. I appreciate your prayers and your support!
Con amor,
Hermana Rogers
PS- if you want to send me a letter, it’s probably fastest and most effective to just email it to me, because we don’t get the mail from the main office in Scarsdale too often– just include your address and I will send you a handwritten letter back! :)
2 Responses to “Branching Out of My Comfort Zone”

  1. Dana April 26, 2012 at 6:00 AM #

    What is your email?

Leave a Reply

