I Love New York !!!

18 Apr

 

Hola familia y amigos!

Oh my goodness, I just have so much to write about! I don’t even know where to start. First of all, it is SOOO wonderful to be in the real world, meeting real-life people. I love that every single day, I get to go out into the streets of New York and talk to people all day long. I wake up with a smile on a face and a song in my heart– I know it sounds cheesy, but I swear, it’s true. (And that’s a big thing, cause I’ve never been a morning person, ever.) We talk to people everywhere we go. My favorite is on the bus, because sometimes you can have a good 5-10 minute conversation, and since there’s nothing better to do, people will actually talk to you! I’ve gotten in the habit of bringing both Spanish and English teaching materials with me when we go out, because we end up talking with a lot of English speakers as well. I was kind of bummed about it at first, but I’m okay with it now. It’s kind of nice to do some talking with people and actually understand everything that’s being said, as opposed to Spanish conversations, where I tend to struggle some of the time.

So, let me just say a few words about the Spanish…. well, before I do that, I should say this: There are a TON of people from the Dominican Republic here in Harlem. A TOOOONNNN. Let me tell you about their Spanish– don’t get me wrong, they are some of the sweetest people I have ever met, but they have this tendency of dropping the “s”s off of their words! Plus they talk suuper fast, so I struggle a lot understanding them. But it’s all good, because at least 75% of the people we meet are from there, so I’m going to get used to it really fast.

I’m also learning a lot about how incredibly nice the people in New York are! There’s this stereotype that everybody’s mean and rough and ragged, but it totally isn’t true. The other day, my companion and I were trying to figure out which subway station we needed to get to. Somebody came up to us and asked us if we were lost and helped us out! It was so great. There’s such a tight sense of community here too, especially on certain streets and apartment buildings. We’ll be walking out on the street and some people will just be sitting on their front steps, saying hi to all of their neighbors that pass. It’s great. I’m learning as well that appearances are SOO not what they seem. Like, at all.

So, one quick cool experience that we had. We were out and about and had thirty minutes to kill before an appointment. We were trying to figure out which building we could go knock. I looked around and saw that one of the buildings had a sign outside of it that was written in Spanish. (Being a missionary is kind of like being a detective… you have to look for clues to find out where the Spanish speakers live!) Anyways, so we go over to that building and start buzzing a couple of apartments to see if they will buzz us in. Nobody was answering. Randomly, I pushed “6”, and we immediately got buzzed in. I thought that we would just start at the bottom of the building and work our way up, but we decided to go up to 6 and see who was home. Turns out there was a woman there whose husband has cancer, so she’s home a lot taking care of him. I couldn’t understand hardly anything she was saying, but about halfway through our conversation, she started crying. We gave her a Book of Mormon and we’re actually going back to teach her tonight! So that was really cool.

I love teaching and I love meeting new people! It’s great. Just great. I’ve already had a slice of real, New York pizza (it was HUUUGE!) and my apartment is super decent, way nicer than what I was expecting. However… we did find a HUGE cockroach nest in one of our cupboards this week!! Needless to say, we freaked out a little bit. I’ve also had to get used to the smells of new York… it’s been interesting. But I’m adjusting and everything’s great.

I’m in LOVE with Central Park. Absolutely, 100% in love. It is gorgeous! So beautiful. Probably my favorite part of New York so far.

I really do feel safe when I’m walking around, mostly because I don’t have to worry about directions and I’m always using the buddy system, since we have to stay with our companions. Well I’ve already written a TON, so sorry about that. I will write some more next week because I’m sure I’ll have plenty of adventures between now and then!

I love you all! :)

Con amor,
Hermana Rogers

2 Responses to “I Love New York !!!”

  1. Dana April 18, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    How can we send letters to Kelly? Is there an email, or an actual address?

  2. Elisha Bird Abreu April 18, 2012 at 10:51 PM #

    bienvendia al club de Dominicanos!!! Mi esposo es Dominicano… son buena gente, pero es verdad que son dificil entender al principio…

Leave a Reply

