Announcing My First Area- HARLEM, NY. Mom, don’t freak out!

11 Apr
Hola!
Didn’t think you’d be hearing from me again so soon, did you? Well, curveball! P-Days here are on Wednesday, so here I am. And guess what?
I’M IN NEW YORK!
Yep. I’m definitely writing this email from a computer in a chapel in (drumroll, please, as I announce my first area…) HARLEM, NY. Mom, don’t freak out. They promise me it’s pretty safe here. I am in the Manhattan Central area, which is basically Harlem. So woohoo! It’s pretty crazy that I’m finally here!
We got to NY yesterday– our plane left pretty early in the morning, so I’m still trying to catch up today on sleep. I’m not going to lie, I’m absolutely exhausted! (Lugging around super heavy luggage will do that to you). But it’s been so great. I LOVE the mission president and his wife, and it’s just been really cool traveling around. I got to meet a ton of the other missionaries today when we did the transfer meeting, which is where I met my new companion/ trainer, Sister Taylor. She is from Georgia and has a cute little accent and she’s great (I’ve known her all of 6 hours or so, but so far we’re getting along just great!) It’s so great to be out in the real world, seeing real people and not being cooped up in the MTC. It’s pretty crazy though– we were on the subway earlier and I looked around and realized that my companion and I were the only whtie people! It’s the first time in my life I’ve ever been a minority.
But everybody in the mission is suuuper friendly and down to earth and just fun. There’s a lot more energy out here in the field than there was in the MTC. I’m already loving NY, although I think it will take a while to get used to all of the different sights and smells. We haven’t gone to our apartment yet, so I’ll be sure to report on that next week.
So as of right now, that’s about all I’ve got– I’m here in NY, and ready to get to work. I’m excited to start meeting and teaching people. I think this will definitely be an adjustment, getting used to city life, but it’s an exciting new adventure and I can’t wait!
Until next Wednesday–
Hermana Rogers

Leave a Reply

