I Leave For New York Tomorrow!!

9 Apr
Hola!
Holy Moly. I can’t believe I am leaving tomorrow!! This time in the MTC has seriously flown by and taken way longer than 2 months all at the same time. It’s hard to describe. But I am very ready to get out into the real world! I’m so excited. We have to be up at 3 AM tomorrow morning to get ready for our flight that leaves at 6 or so. I still haven’t started packing yet… luckily today is P-Day, so I can get it done!
Here are some updates about how my last week in the MTC has gone:
1) On Wednesday, I got to host one of my best friends, Sister Alison Jones! She will also be headed to New York, but to the Rochester mission. It’s been really cool being here at the same time, even if it is only for a few days.
2) Also on Wednesday, my companions and I were selected to do example teaching for the new missionaries. Basically, we go in and start a lesson with an investigator and then the new missionaries take over after ten minutes or so asking questions. I remember it being a really cool experience when I first came in, and it was kind of neat to be on the other side. I remember when I first saw those missionaries teaching, I thought that I’d never be able to do it like they did! And lo and behold, we totally were able to do it. It’s just one of the many things that I’ve learned about myself since I’ve been here.
3) Yesterday (Easter) was a really cool day here. Elder Packer actually came and spoke to us! So that was super cool. And then for the devotional that night, the BYU Men’s Chorus came and did a concert. It was so great! They were amazing. We’ve really been spoiled with terrific devotionals and different opportunities since I’ve been here in the MTC. Looking back at my time here, I can’t believe how many cool things I’ve gotten to do and be a part of! I’m glad that I came in when I did. :)
4) Goodbyes— goodbyes are hard. We had to say goodbye to one of our favorite teachers on Saturday night, and we’ll have to say goodbye to another one tonight. Plus there are two people in our district who aren’t going to the same mission as the rest of us, so it’s sad that we won’t get to see them now and then. I’ve really grown so close with my district! I just love them all so much. (Once I get out in the field, I’ll be able to upload and send pictures and you will be able to see all of the companions/elders I’m talking about!) Ooh, funny quote time: Hermana Noble was talking about how she needed a break from men (don’t know how we got on that subject, but we were trying to only speak in Spanish, so we were talking about subjects all over the place.) The word for “break” in spanish is “descanso.” But Hermana Noble said, “Necesito un desayuno de hombres.” ‘Desayuno’ means breakfast. It was reallly funny.
Anyways, that’s about it! I’m about to be a real missionary! This time tomorrow, I’ll be traveling on my way to New York.
With that, just a quick note– I won’t be able to receive free DearElders anymore! :( Sad day, I know. However, DearElders still work, you just have to pay the price that you would pay for a stamp, and you have to go to the New York, New York North mission tab instead of the Provo MTC Tab on the webpage. I’ll have my mom update my address on my blog and facebook page once I’ve got it.
Thank you so much for all of the support and love I’ve received while I’ve been here in the MTC! It’s really meant a lot that I’ve been in your thoughts and prayers. I am so incredibly excited to go out into the world and teach and be a real-life missionary! :)
Con mucho amor,
Hermana Rogers


Leave a Reply

