You Say “Pescados,” I Say “Pecados.”

27 Feb
Hello all!
Another week has FLOWN by here in the MTC. I can’t believe it’s P-Day again already! Just another week in the MTC, so nothing crazy to report. But I can give some highlights of the week:
During one of our lessons, my companion told our investigator that they could be forgiven of their “pescados.” This translates into “dead fish” in Spanish. (The word for “sins” is pecados.) The moral of the story? One letter can make a big ole difference! Also, another funny lesson/investigator story. So my companion and I were teaching our “investigator” (we have two investigators, and they’re our teachers– when we teach them, they take on alternate identities, usually of someone they taught in their own mission.) So it was late at night and we were teaching our “investigator,” who is really our teacher, Hermano B. He’s also a student at BYU, and apparently they’re having midterms right about now, so needless to say, he’s been pretty tired. So there we are in the lesson and he starts falling asleep on us! His eyes are drooping, and he’s going in and out of it. I’m trying to save the lesson by asking him questions and making it interactive but he only responds with one word answers. It’s pretty much a lost cause. All of a sudden, my companion busts up laughing. Like uncontrollable, giggly, squealing laughter. So I’m just sitting there, watching as the lesson collapses around me. So the NEXT time we taught him, we went in with a game plan. We brought a mini bottle of water and some really strong mints and offered it to him. He looked surprised and amused, but he took them both and it worked! He stayed awake and we had an excellent lesson. So there’s at least one thing I’ve learned on my mission– adapt! :)
We also had our first experience with the TRC (Training Resource Center) this week. Basically, members come and volunteer to be guinea pigs as we teach them. This was really cool for us because we’re used to seeing the same people every single day, so it was nice to have some new faces and new Spanish speakers to interact with. It went really well! The language is becoming easier and easier. It’s much easier to understand than to speak, though, so that’s what I’m working on the most.
We just got a new district in our zone. What’s so amusing to me is that they seem so young! I know my district has only been here for (3ish) weeks, but I feel like we’re pros at the MTC now. It seems like forever ago that I came into the MTC.
One last tidbit before I sign off– for those of you who know me well, this news is going to be shocking to you: I’ve gotten really into volleyball whilst here at the MTC! Mind-blowing, I know. But it’s great because nobody keeps score and we’re just playing for fun. I play almost every day and I’m finally improving in hand/eye coordination and it’s a great way to exercise and to have fun. Who knew that my mission could make me like sports?! Haha.
Well, thanks again for all of the love and support! I miss and love you all.
Con amor,
Hermana Rogers


Leave a Reply

