Lumos!

21 Feb
Dearest Family and Friends,
First off, I just want to say thank you so much for all of your letters and care packages! I feel so loved and am truly grateful :) I get the feeling that these MTC letters aren’t going to be the most exciting… simply for the main reason that every week is the same schedule! Go to class, eat, go to class some more :) But it’s all good. The Spanish is coming along wonderfully, although sometimes I accidentally mix Harry Potter words in with Spanish… oops! The other day I was looking for the word “light” in Spanish (which is “luz”) and for some reason, I said “lumos.” Yeah.
Every week our Sacrament Meeting is half in Spanish. We missionaries are supposed to write a talk completely in Spanish before Sunday and then during the meeting, right after the Sacrament, the Branch President randomly calls on two missionaries to give the talks that they prepared. I haven’t been called yet, but it was kind of fun writing a talk in Spanish! My district also sang in church this week. We’ve got some really talented people, so it sounded pretty good! Good thing, too, because the main MTC Mission President randomly showed up at our Sacrament Meeting! I got to talk with him a bit afterwards and say hi to him from Grandma and Grandpa– they know him from when they lived in California. So that was a cool experience.
I’m trying really hard not to gain weight here in the MTC– in fact, I have a goal to lose weight! Everybody’s weight fluctuates while they’re here, and I suspect that since I’ll be here for 2 months, I’ll be no different. But I am determined not to gain weight! I am going to defy expectations on this one. The food is really good though, so it takes a lot of discipline. Of course, everything here takes a lot of discipline, so I think I can manage it. One of the elders was talking to another elder one day at lunch and said, “Elder, do you think you can learn Spanish?” “Well, yeah.” “Then you can resist a cookie.” It’s my new motto. :)
It’s so cool to be able to attend two devotionals every week, and to sing in the choir and to learn about the gospel all the time! I’ve recently been reading in Romans– I’ve never read there before, and I’m loving it! I highly suggest reading it, especially Chapter 5. I’m learning a ton, about the gospel, about Spanish, and about myself. It’s great.
I love you all!
Con amor,
Hermana Rogers
PS- I can only write letters back on P-Days (Mondays) so if you send me a letter during the week, just know that I will write you back as soon as I can (the following Monday!)
Leave a Reply

